To Make Lemon/Orange Cream

Recipe by: Madam Dean Made by: Mariah Yates

In my college class, HSCI 3243 The History of Science, Women and Medicine we have been working on a research project having to deal with recipe books written by early modern English women. We have been working in groups to transcribe the recipes in various different recipes books. My group was assigned to transcribe and research Elizabeth Jacobs’ manuscript book “Physicall and chyrurgicall receipts Cookery and preserves.” Throughout this project I have gotten to learn about many different ways that women in early modern times concocted medicines and remedies for different ailments. I have also gotten to see how compared to this time period we have grown and evolved in much of our medicines. I will be transcribing and recreating a recipe from this book and I am excited to share this with you.

The Transcription of this recipe is as follows:
To make Lemon Cream by Madam Bean
Take the juice of 2 Lemons let the rine of one
sleep in the Juice all night then add a quarter of
a pinte of fair water beaten with the whites of
4 Eggs and one of the yolks. Strain all through a
strainer then have ready half a pound of double
Refined Sugar west with a quarter of a pinte of
water and the white of one Egg beaten to Clarify it
when it is sound and Clear put the Juice of your
Lemon and Eggs to it keeping it stirring till it is of
a good thickness like Cream and then put it into your
Cups and Glasses to Cool.

The Same way may be made
Orange Cream

Measurement Conversion:
1/4 pint of water –> 1/2 cup of water
1/2 pound of double refined sugar –> 1 cup of cane sugar

So I chose to do both Lemon Cream and Orange Cream for options and if I really messed up on one. I wanted to make it as authentic as possible. With that being said, I did not want to use anything that would have been unavailable during this time period. So in an effort to keep this true to the time I hid away my precious mixer and other kitchen products that I have come to know and love. I can’t wait to tell you about my adventure in recreating this recipe but first you have to know about the ingredients and instructions.

Ingredients

  • 2 Large Lemons
  • 2 Large Oranges
  • A carton of Eggs (I got 18 just in case)
  • water
  • 1 pound of double refined sugar

Instructions:

  1. Juice two lemons
  2. Let lemon juice sit overnight with the peel of one in the juice
  3. Add juice to 1/4 pint of water beaten with 3 egg whites and 1 whole egg
  4. Strain this mixture
  5. On the side add 1/2 lb. of sugar to 1/4 pint of water and wait for the sugar to dissolve and the water to appear clear
  6. Beat one egg white and add to the sugar water mixture
  7. Combine the juice mix with the sugar mix slowly while stirring
  8. Keep stirring
  9. Keep stirring
  10. Oh yes, keep stirring
  11. Once it is thick like a cream put it into your glasses or cups to cool
  12. Enjoy!

Let’s Begin!

These are all the ingredients you need! As you can see I already juiced my Lemons and Oranges and let them sit over night.
I took the whites of 3 eggs and one whole egg as well as 1/2 cup of water
Once the egg whites and water were beaten together it was time to ass the lemon juice
you have to have the sugar and water mixture ready so I combined that on the side as to let the sugar dissolve properly
after the sugar was dissolved a bit and combined with a beaten egg it was time to add the lemon juice egg white mixture to it and JUST KEEP STIRRING

After this was completed I did the whole thing over again with oranges! It did not come out as I would have imagined because of the amount of water. The mixture immediately separated and I was confused about how beaten did “Beaten” mean. So once this was over I decided to test this recipe another way. The way of the post modern kitchen and some new knowledge of beaten egg whites. I beat the egg whites first without a yolk and I added sugar slowly without water. Then I added some of the lemon/orange juice mixture from my previous tries. It came out like lemon flavored and orange flavored whipped cream and I had previously imagined! Below are a few images of my first attempt in comparison to my second or rather my first and second attempt in comparison to my third and fourth attempt. It tastes great but I don’t think it was the same “cream” I was thinking. It seemed like like it would be a drink rather than the dessert I had in mind.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started