Carrot Stew

By Serena Kana

Original Recipe from Elizabeth Jacob’s book

To Stew Carrots

Take your carrots and cut them in long little pieces and take a pretty many onions ad cut them small. A bunch of sweet hearbes. A little whole pepper and a little nutmeg, and put on much water as will lower your sauce pan. A good piece of butter lower them close and let them on. Allow the fire stir the from times and when they are enough serve them.

Ingredients:

  • Onions
  • Carrots (long pieces)
  • Sweet herbs (I used basil)
  • Nutmeg
  • Pepper
  • Water
  • Butter

Procedure:

I gathered all the ingredients needed which was pretty easy to obtain. The only thing I had to improvise was the sweet herbs, so I used basil. First, I cull the onions and carrots. While I was cutting, I put pot full of water on the stove on low heat. Next, I added everything to the stove, including the rest of the ingredients. The recipe never specified the amounts for each so I guesstimated and put however much I felt was normal. After leaving it on boil for about 8 minutes and let it cool to serve.

Afterthoughts:

It smelt horrific and made me gag because the thought of nutmeg and carrots did not sound appealing. My sister tasted it and she said it was pretty bland but nothing she would ever make again. The recipe itself was not difficult to make, but it was confusing on how much of the ingredients I needed. Unfortunately, I did not find much as to why this recipe was used but I assume it was used for as soup and something to eat/drink when someone had a minor illness like the cold.

Pictures of the process:

The stew before the water started to boil, Almost all the ingreiedets are in there.
Pepper being put into the stew.
After all ingredients are in the pot. The water is starting to boil.
All the ingredients used in this recipe, Not very many!
The final product! Does not look yummy at all. It in fact, was not.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started